Wednesday, January 31, 2024

Sponsored Columbus Symphony
Igor Stravinsky was commissioned to write The Firebird early in his career by Sergei Diaghilev, famed director of the Ballets Russes in Paris. Inspired by folklore, this suite from the ballet takes the listener through a dramatic and fantastical journey. Join the Columbus Symphony and classical saxophonist Steven Banks for this incredible performance, February 3-4 at the Ohio Theatre. Tickets start at $10. 🎷

Hello, Wednesday! Chelsea here.

As we say goodbye to January, I can’t help but feel myself daydreaming about some adventures I have planned for later this year. As usual, I find myself searching for things to do around the Buckeye State. Sometimes I think I focus so much on the “off the beaten path” options that I forget about the major tourist attractions around Ohio. We have hundreds of millions of visitors to this state every year and I found myself wondering, where do they like to go? Well, I found out and naturally, I had to share that info with all of you. Honestly, there were a few surprises on here and some places I have yet to explore, even though I’ve lived here my whole life.

🚧 Columbus Library’s Linden Branch Prepares For A Major Upgrade 
In a continuation of the work they’ve been doing to revitalize libraries, Columbus Metropolitan Library will temporarily relocate the Linden Branch to make way for a new, state-of-the-art facility.

🏡 This Modern Getaway Has Heated Floors And A ‘Hot Tub Hut’
I’ve had the opportunity to visit some truly incredible cabins down in Hocking Hills over the years, but this one really stuck out to me. From the attention to detail to the unique layout of the space, it would be perfect for a multi-generational family or a group of couples. The heated floors and the Hot Tub Hut are just the icing on the cake.

Headlines 📰 

🌿 Ready to make your backyard a haven for native wildlife? The Audubon Native Plant Backyard Challenge is back. If you’re interested, you can register to receive seeds, tools, and essential resources at the kickoff meeting this April, plus attend workshops that will guide you in creating a biodiverse garden paradise. (Grange Insurance Audubon Center)

✍️ In Ideastream’s “Sound of Us” poetic reentry series, Cardell Belfoure spoke with Ohioans who are making a difference in their communities after leaving prison. Belfoure guides them in writing poetry about their reentry experiences. (WOSU)

🚗 Unfortunately, winter in Ohio could also be called pothole season. If one of these craters springs up on your morning commute, here’s what you can do about it. (Axios Columbus)

Weather: 41 and cloudy

Coming Up 📆

Today's Photo 🤳

🌧 Sharon Woods Metro Park can feel so atmospheric, even in the dead of winter.
 
Want your photo to be featured? Use #columbusnavigator or tag us!

Something to say? Hit reply - we love mail. 💌📭

- Chelsea