Wednesday, April 25, 2018

April Showers Bring May's...New Wardrobe? The Best Places To Shop In The 'Bus ๐Ÿ‘—๐Ÿ‘–๐Ÿ‘•

Columbus Navigator Logo

Happy Wednesday! It's Tracie.

I don't like to say I have a shopping addiction.  I know when to stop, I have a budget, and I prefer to buy things on sale. But, I do feel a rush of adrenaline when I find a reallllyyyyy good deal ๐Ÿ™Œ.  You know the one.  Maybe it's an amazing pair of shoes ๐Ÿ‘ข, leather, durable, timeless.  They were originally $200.  Now though?  They're on sale for $150, with an additional 40% off. Plus, you have a store credit.  You get it, right? 

We've rounded up a list of the best locally owned boutiques in town.  And trust me when I say, that piece that will complete your wardrobe is out there.  It might even be on sale. ๐Ÿ‘

 Wednesday Weather ๐ŸŒกHigh of 58 (๐Ÿ˜€) 30% chance of showers (๐Ÿ˜ฃ).

Navigator Originals โœ๏ธGet Your Garden On: The Best Central Ohio Home & Garden Tours ๐ŸกThe highlight of warmer weather, for me, is getting to snoop through peoples homes.  Legally, of course, through the various home and garden tours of Columbus.  Two New Baby Manatees Have Just Arrived At The Columbus Zoo Ah, manatees.  The cows of the ocean. Wouldn't that be the life? Floating around, eating. Unfortunately, these gentle mammals can sometimes have a rough life in the wild.  Fortunately, the Columbus Zoo participates in a rehabilitation program, which has led these sweet babes to us, temporarily. The Summer Concert Series Is Back At Polaris Fashion Place ๐ŸŽทAs I said ๐Ÿ”, I love shopping. You know what else I love? Music!  Both things in one place is nirvana (๐Ÿ˜‰), so you'll know where to find me most Thursday's this summer.  

Around Town ๐Ÿ˜Columbus ranks fourth in the nation for human trafficking.  It's tragic and seedy, and something that we don't like to think about. And one place it's happening that you wouldn't expect?  Ohio's egg farms. ๐Ÿ”[Dispatch]While it's not exactly Mayberry, Alexandria, Ohio, has that small town, picket fence feel. Nestled between New Albany and Newark, the town dates back to 1830. It's past is concrete and beautiful, but its future is uncertain and up to its residents. [WOSU]So you've got a pre-employment drug screen coming up.  You're concerned you may not pass, so you ask a friend for a "sample." Perhaps you should ask that friend about their own habits before submitting, yeah?  ๐Ÿ‘ฎ[nbc4i]

Coming Up ๐Ÿ“†4/25-4/29: ๐ŸŽญ The King and I4/25: ๐Ÿท Taste of Spain, Wine Tasting4/26: ๐ŸŒธArt in Bloom at Columbus Museum of Art4/27-4/29: ๐Ÿ’ผ The Ohio Entrepreneur Expo 20184/27: ๐ŸŽŸ Vintage Market Days of West Columbus4/27: ๐Ÿฆ Grand Opening Cousins Maine Lobster at PiNS4/28: ๐ŸŒต  April Sale at Franklin Park Conservatory4/28: ๐Ÿ“š Independent Bookstore Day 20184/28: ๐ŸŽผ Night of Jazz w/ Stephen Spottswood & Friends4/28: ๐Ÿฅ‡ The Capital City Half Marathon4/28: ๐Ÿšƒ Upper Arlington Historical Society Trolley Tour4/28: โšฝ๏ธ Crew SC vs. Quakes4/28-4/29: ๐Ÿ‚ Professional Bull Riders Columbus Invitational4/29: ๐Ÿ” The Bobโ€™s Burgers Burger Bar for the Bed Race4/29: ๐ŸŒŽ Science Sunday: Discover Ohio's Earthworks

Longread When I was in elementary school, my sister and I had an environmental protection club.  I don't remember its name, but I do remember fighting over who held which office.  I also know that our only activity was knocking on doors in our suburban subdivision and berating our neighbors about their use of plastic six-pack rings.  Delightful, I'm sure.While I still find recycling to be important and strive to take good care of Mother Earth, scientists have discovered that Arctic sea ice is only partially comprised of ice. The rest?  Pollutants. Mashable: Arctic Sea Ice Is Littered With Plastic From Cigarettes And Paint

Something to say? Hit reply - we read it all.- Tracie