Tuesday, January 2, 2024

Sponsored the Greater Columbus Arts Council
Columbus is lucky to have some incredible public art installations. They’re beautiful, easily accessible, and important to our city’s culture. Learn more about public art in Columbus by visiting columbusmakesart.com. 🎨

Hello, 2024! Chelsea here.

Welcome back to a brand new year, my friends. I hope you all had an enjoyable end to 2023 and a brilliant start to 2024. I’m so looking forward to another year of mornings spent together here! When I was a kid, I hated January. Probably because it felt like a halfway point in the year instead of a fresh start. But as I’ve moved onward in my years, I’ve begun to appreciate this month and the opportunity it brings to look forward with hope and excitement. I don’t know what 2024 will hold, but I hope it will be a worthwhile adventure. And speaking of worthwhile adventures, there’s a new reigning champ when it comes to incredible Hocking Hills stays, and it was chosen by the King of cozy cottages himself.

The Best New Restaurants To Try This Month In Columbus 🌮
Columbus is no stranger to fantastic restaurants. It’s one of my favorite things about this city. If you’re looking to spice up your weekly date night or you just need a new lunch spot, keep this list handy.

How To Work Out For Free In Columbus 💪
If your New Year’s resolutions involve getting healthier, don’t be discouraged by how expensive it can seem. There are some great ways to work out without breaking the bank in Columbus, including free yoga, hiking, classes, and more.

Clintonville Shocker: Beloved 22-Year-Old Clothing Store Closes
This one seems to have been sudden, and it’s got me mourning my youth a little bit today.

Headlines 📰 

🥩 Thurn’s Speciality Meats has been a staple in Columbus for 138 years. But later this year, they’ll close their doors for good. (Columbus Monthly)

🙅 Gov. Mike DeWine vetoed a measure last week that would have “banned gender-affirming care for minors and transgender athletes’ participation in girls and women’s sports.” The veto is a distinct break from his fellow GOP members who were behind the legislation.

📚 I spent a lot of time reading in 2023, and I wasn’t alone. Wondering what the most popular books were at the Columbus Library? Wonder no more. (Axios)

Weather: 39 and mostly cloudy

Sponsored by PromoWest
If you've ever had the chance to see your favorite artists perform live, then there's a decent chance that you saw them at a PromoWest venue! They've got tons of epic upcoming shows including Grouplove, The Kooks, Sleater-Kinney, and more. For more info, visit promowestlive.com. 🎸

Coming Up 📆

Today's Photo 🤳

😍 Just in case you weren’t tempted to pack up and head down to Hocking Hills after our first story, here’s a little visual reminder of why we’re so in love with the place.
 
Want your photo to be featured? Use #columbusnavigator or tag us!

Something to say? Hit reply - we love mail. 💌📭

- Chelsea