Thursday, Sept 6, 2018

The Wait Is Over: GD Ritzy's Is Officially Open In Clintonville ๐Ÿ”๐ŸŸ๐Ÿจ

Columbus Navigator Logo

๐Ÿฅจ 

Today's newsletter is supported by Hofbrรคuhaus Columbus 

๐Ÿฅจ

๐ŸบLearn More ยป ๐Ÿบ

Welcome to Thursday, it's Tracie.

So, I've never been to a GD Ritzy's...and I'm Columbus born and raised ๐Ÿ˜ฏ.  There, I said it. I feel better. I was always more of a Friendly's kind of girl, West Broad St location, specifically. But that's not to say I haven't been following its resurgence with anticipation. And now the wait is over and it's finally time for me to feel like a true capital city native.

So I should definitely start with the shoestring fries, onion rings, and a milkshake, right? 

Navigator full story:

๐Ÿ”๐ŸŸ

 Thursday Weather ๐ŸŒก

A little bit of relief from the heatwave ๐Ÿ”ฅ, high is expected to hit 84. Chance of thunderstorms is likely, especially in the afternoon ๐ŸŒ‚. 

 Navigator Originals โœ๏ธ

I like to think that I "cowork," but that's mainly because a dog or a kid is almost always climbing around me while I get stuff done. Perhaps you'd like to work somewhere with other, equally mature colleagues. Who, unlike mine, clean up after themselves. Actually, maybe I better read this article

again

...

Seeing that HGTV is running a House Hunter's marathon is akin to Christmas morning at my house. I love looking at houses, more specifically in areas I would never move to or could not afford even if I did want to move to them. Ya feel me? Like, I don't want to live out in the country with lots of land, but that doesn't stop me from plugging that in to my search feature. 

 Around Town ๐Ÿก

September has always been one of my favorite months. It's my wedding anniversary, my youngest child's birthday, and best of all, Honeycrisp apple season ๐Ÿ. Sad news out of my go-to apple orchard though, Lynd's Fruit Farm has cancelled U-pick this weekend due crop damage from this heat. It's causing bitter rot (in the apples and, me as well). ๐ŸŽ [Dispatch]Big news out of my alma mater this week ๐ŸŽ“, Capital University will be offering half-price tuition to students whose families work in non-profit or public service industries. Maybe I should see if they'd retroactively offer this to me? Let's call the balance on those student loans good, ok ๐Ÿ’ฐ? [nbc4i]After two early releases, and a day without classes for Columbus City Schools ๐Ÿ“š, lawmakers are calling for accountability on schools without air conditioning. While no cost is mentioned to update all buildings by adding AC units, it's kind of ridiculous that it hasn't been done already, no? ๐Ÿซ [WOSU]

 Coming Up ๐Ÿ“†

๐Ÿก9/6-9/16 

๐ŸŽญ9/6-9/7 

๐Ÿš€9/6 

๐ŸŽญ9/6-9/16 

๐Ÿ˜‚9/6 

๐Ÿบ9/6 

๐ŸŽฅ9/6 

๐ŸŽต9/7-9/9 

๐Ÿฐ9/7 

๐Ÿ 9/7-9/9 

๐ŸŽจ9/7-9/8 

๐ŸŽญ9/7 

๐Ÿบ9/7-9/9 

๐Ÿˆ9/8 

๐Ÿฎ9/8 

๐ŸŽฅ9/9 

 Weekly Concert Calendar ๐ŸŽธ

9/6: 

9/6: 

9/6: 

9/7: 

9/7: 

9/8: 

9/8: 

9/9: 

9/9: 

 Longread ๐Ÿ”ช๐Ÿ’‰๐Ÿ”ซ

In the era of #metoo and #timesup, women's equality issues have worked their way to the forefront of social media and social conscience. While it's been a long time coming, it truly seems like society is moving in a positive direction when it comes to the disparities between the sexes.

All that said, here's another interesting place where men and women are not equal. And in this case, it's definitely not going to turn into a movement or a trending hashtag. At least, I don't think? 

When asked to name a famous serial killer, plenty leap to mind (especially in the age of true crime). Maybe your mind goes to Ted Bundy or Dennis Raider, aka the BTK Killer. Maybe you think of Jeffrey Dahmer or the Zodiac Killer. Aileen Wuornos might be among the top five people you come up with, but you're more than likely to name a man before a woman in this hypothetical guessing game.

Refinery 29:

Something to say? Hit reply - we read it all.

- Tracie