Thursday, August 16 2018

Intern Tess shares what she’ll miss most about Columbus as she leaves for college

Columbus Navigator Logo

Hello Thursday. It's Tess.

In roughly 24 hours I’ll be packing it up and heading off to college! This has been one heck of a week. With every box I packed, the more I started to think about how much I’m going to miss Columbus because of how awesome it is. Obviously, I’m going to miss my friends and family, but I’m also going to miss this city and everything it has to offer. It’s been my home my entire life. I created a list of some of my favorite things about Columbus including where I like to eat and how I like to spend my weekends. This city is amazing and there’s so much I’m going to miss about growing up here. 😢

Navigator full story:

 Thursday Weather 🌡

High of 78F with an 80% chance of thunderstorms. Showers should start in the morning, pick up in the afternoon, and then calm down again in the evening. ⛈

 Navigator Originals ✏️

On September 16 you can participate in a totally immersive role-playing game set in a post-apocalyptic world... I know, epic, right? 🧙🏻‍♂️

Wahlberg was quite the smooth talker when he was on the Late Show with Stephen Colbert and he mentioned that he loves Columbus... so clearly he's not too bad. 😎

 Around Town 🏡

Worthington resident, Susan Brown, has taken it upon herself to repopulate the butterflies. After realizing she missed the number of butterflies she used to see when she was a child, she started researching more about them and why they seem to have disappeared. Now after attracting them into her backyard, she collects the monarch eggs and keeps them in a safe environment to grow until they're ready for the wild. 

 🦋

The Ohio Department Of Transportation is doing some major pavement work in downtown Columbus this weekend. This will result in many ramp and lane closures near the I-70-71 split, so your commute might need a little rerouting this weekend. Construction will begin Friday night until Monday morning. 

 🚧

The Austin City Council voted to move forward with their plans to build the new 20,000-seat major-league soccer stadium. The vote was 7-4 but left some unanswered questions; like who will get the final say, the staff or the city council, and where the Columbus Crew will practice next MLS season.

 ⚽️

Check out this event from our advertiser Hofbräuhaus Columbus:

🍺

 🍺

Join 

 at their 

 on September 6th for live music, entertainment, and plenty of good food and drink. 🍺🥨🇩🇪

Want to reach the right people in Columbus? Check out our advertising packages.

 Coming Up 📆

🌑 8/17: 

🍽 8/17: 

🚚 8/17-18: 

🎮 8/17-19: 

🐶 8/18: 

🎨 8/18: 

🐶 8/18: 

🎉 8/18: 

☀️ 8/18:

🛍 8/18: 

🎉 8/18: 

📽 8/18: 

 (Drexel Theatre)

🍺 8/18: 

🛍 8/19: 

🧘‍♀️ 8/19: 

 Weekly Concert Calendar 🎸

8/16: 

 (Express Live!)

8/16: 

 (The Basement)

8/16: 

 (Ohio Stadium)

8/17: 

 (The Basement)

8/18: 

 (The Basement)

8/18: 

 (Newport Music Hall)

 Longread 📚🛌😴

"Nearly every night of our lives, we undergo a startling metamorphosis. Our brain profoundly alters its behavior and purpose, dimming our consciousness. For a while, we become almost entirely paralyzed."

Something to say? Hit reply - we read it all.

- Tess