Thursday, April 22 2021

🍽 A New Restaurant And An Important Conversation

The Art Of Aminah Robinson

Sponsored by Columbus Museum of Art and their exhibit Raggin’ On: The Art of Aminah Robinson’s House and Journals, the first major exhibition of the artist’s work since her death and a celebration of Robinson’s work, vision and the home, and the Poindexter Village neighborhood she cherished. There's so much amazing art in this exhibit that it's difficult to sum up - go here for more info and take a visit. 🎨🎨

Hello, Thursday! Chelsea here.

There aren't many instances in life where I find myself speechless, but yesterday was one of those days. I had to take some time to process before I could put pen to paper, and if I'm being honest, I'm still at a loss for words. I just want to say to all of the people of color out there reading this newsletter, in particular black women, I love you, I value you, and I'm going to keep trying to find the right words in the hopes of making the world a better place for you. We're covering some interesting new things below, but I wanted to start the morning off by sharing this poignant conversation about systemic racism that I had with Caroline Woliver, the Director of Leadership and Social Justice for YWCA Columbus, last summer. 

Navigator Feature Story: 

Navigator Originals ✏️

 đźĄ©

By the time my husband and I celebrate our anniversary next month, we'll both be fully vaccinated and we're extremely excited to spend the evening in a nice restaurant with cocktails and good vibes. We haven't decided exactly where we are going yet, but let me tell you, Galla Park Steak is heading to the top of the list. I'm just very intrigued by the $67 cocktail on the menu. YOLO, I guess?

 đźŽµ

Everytime another festival or concert in announced for this summer, I can feel a little bit of my soul returning to my body. I'm so ready for live art, music, lemon shake-ups, and running into old friends. 

 đź¤”

State budgets may not be exciting, but that doesn't mean they aren't worth reading up on. There's a lot going on in this budget, including education funding, internet access, COVID-19 relief, tax cuts, and more. 

Headlines đź“° 

This is a guide

that is awfully handy to have bookmarked in your phone that covers more situations than you might think: 

This is a powerful photo from Tuesday

: Ms. L, a COTA bus driver in Columbus, Ohio,

(The Lantern)

Scott Woods speaks here

and gives words to how I have been feeling since Tuesday evening: 

(Alive)

Weather:

50 and partly sunny, but the day will start with frost and some patchy fog

Today's Photo đź¤ł

Found in Franklinton.

I'm finding that everyone I'm talking to this week is feeling emotionally raw and exhausted - if that sounds familiar please be kind to yourself and know you're not alone. ❤️

📸|

Want to be featured? Use 

 or 

!

Something to say? Hit reply - we love mail. đź’Śđź“­

- Chelsea