Monday, December 10 2018

9 Columbus restaurants to take your family that aren't Applebee's πŸ”πŸ˜‚

Columbus Navigator Logo

Happy Monday! It's Chelsea.

Good morning, friends. I hope you all had a wonderful weekend and enjoyed yourselves, in spite of the cold! I know that's just the way the cookie crumbles this time of year, and that it's not even officially winter yet, but can I just say that I'm over it! Although it's cold and yucky, it's still one of my favorite times of the year. I'm not really a huge holiday person, but what I do love is that I get to see people that I don't get to see much throughout the year.

From family that lives far away to friends who've moved out of town, it's a great time of year to catch up over a delicious meal. Unless of course you're surrounded by picky eaters. If meals at chain restaurants plague your near future, let me help you out a little. I got your back, Navigator fam! 

Navigator full story: 

 πŸ”

 Navigator Originals ✏️

 πŸ•πŸΆ

Cute things make me happy, and there's nothing cuter than the #61Fur hashtag on Instagram. Here are the pics to prove it. 

 πŸŒ‡

This time of year, I tend to get really reflective. I like to look back on the journey I've taken and there's nowhere better to do that than overlooking a beautiful sunset. Columbus has some hot spots when the sun goes down, and I've decided to share some of my favorites with you! And just so you know, when I get to thinking about the things that have made this year great, all of you come to mind. ❀️

 πŸ˜

I don't know how I can already love something that's only a few days old so much, but I do. This baby elephant is pure perfection and I can't wait to watch it grow up here in Columbus! Just look at that face!

Talking Points ❀️

How about a 1950's pizza trail?...

CMH Gourmand checks out Terita’s Pizza, a North End stalwart since 1959, and has a brief digression on the oldest pizza places in the city. He name-checks Terita's, Rubino's, Gatto’s, and Tommy's, which is a remarkable four-some. I hadn't heard of Terita's, but it's one good looking pizza.

 πŸ•

Haskins comes close...

Dwayne Haskins didn't win the Heisman Trophy Saturday night, but he did

... Ranking the

. 🏈

The eternal identity crisis...

Loving these regular columns from Scott Woods at Columbus Alive. This one talks about identity and culture in a city where culture is too often imposed top down instead of happening organically bottom up.

 πŸŽ­

And on that note...

Speaking of things being imposed from on high, Columbus City Council announced their list of 15 City Council candidates, from which they will select for us two people to fill newly vacant seats. There are some great names on this list - what are the odds they'll be selected?

 πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ

Weather 

🌑

31 and sunny. β˜€οΈ

 Coming Up πŸ“†

πŸŽ„ 12/10-23:

πŸ’ 12/11:

🎭 12/12:

πŸ₯ƒ 12/12: 

πŸ’ 12/13:

❄️ 12/13: 

πŸŽ„ 12/13: 

🎭 12/13-16:

(Short North Stage)

πŸŽ„ 12/13-23: 

(Lincoln Theatre)

πŸ›° 12/14: 

πŸŽ„ 12/14-16: 

πŸŽ„ 12/15: 

πŸ‘Έ 12/15: 

πŸ’ 12/15:

πŸŽ„ 12/16: 

(Palace Theatre)

 Concert Calendar πŸŽΈπŸŽ»πŸŽ·

12/11:

(Big Room Bar)

12/14:

(A&R Music Bar)

12/15: 

 (Newport Music Hall)

12/15: 

(Southern Theatre)

12/16: 

(Newport Music Hall)

 Today's Photo πŸ€³

Our Director of Events, Leanne, shared this shot from a class @theseasonedfarmhouse where she learned how to take Christmas cookies to the next level. I'm on board. πŸŽ„πŸͺ

Something to say? Hit reply - we love mail. πŸ’ŒπŸ“­

- Chelsea