Monday April 30, 2018

A guide to Columbus Hipsters, Vol. 2 (The First Album Was Better) πŸ˜‚πŸ˜Ž

Columbus Navigator Logo

Happy Monday! Chelsea, here.

I hope you all enjoyed the weekend. The weather was beautiful and honestly, I'm struggling a little with the fact that it's over. But alas, all good things must end. I was out and about all over the city over the weekend. While I was waiting to be seated at German Village Coffee Shop for my weekly Saturday morning breakfast ritual, I couldn't help but be distracted by the gaggle of hipsters (I don't know, but I feel like they're definitely called a gaggle) streaming past making their way to Fox in the Snow and other hip GV locations.

While I watched them pass with their 90s mom jeans and perfectly secured yet somehow messy top-knots, I couldn't help but think, "What Would Zoey Miller Say?" aka W.W.Z.M.S. 

Luckily for me, he's just released Volume 2. 

 Monday Weather 🌑The weather this week is looking AMAZING. πŸ˜πŸ˜ Today you can expect a high of 69 with sunny skies β˜€οΈ and 0% chance of rain. 

Navigator Originals βœοΈScene75 Is Bringing A Massive Indoor Entertainment Center To Tuttle MallThe largest indoor entertainment center in the country will soon be found in Tuttle Mall. The 200K+ square foot facility will include go-karts, mini-golf, arcade games, virtual reality, and much more. Live Nation Is Offering $20 Tickets To Beck, Arcade Fire, Bon Jovi, And MoreBoy oh Boy, do I have a deal for you. Live Nation is kicking off National Concert Week with a ridiculous deal. You can score $20 tickets to dozens of shows here in Columbus, including some of the biggest names in the music industry. Tickets go on sale at 8 a.m., so set an alarm, because you won't want to miss out. Westerville Is Installing Its First Splash PadSince we've been getting a little taste of warmer weather, it's hard not to obsess about summer. The City of Westerville recently announced a new addition to park life in the town, a new splash pad. 

Around Town 🏘Guys... someone let the secret out again! I don't know which one of you it was, but I'm going to let it go this time. Yet another "big city" publication has discovered the joys of life in Columbus. [NY Post]The Columbus Museum of Art and Columbus State Community College are teaming up to create a brand new pre-school experience. Wonder School will accept 12 students to the part-time education facility this fall, which will focus on hands-on learning through the arts. [Columbus Business First]The city has said goodbye to an icon. Sue Doody, the beloved founder of Lindey's, passed away last week after a hard-fought battle with cancer. [614Now]

Weekly Concert Calendar: πŸ‘¨β€πŸŽ€πŸŽΈπŸŽΉ5/1: Jeff Rosenstock (Ace of Cups)5/1: Parkway Drive (Newport Music Hall)5/2: Wilderado (The Basement)5/3: The Spikedrivers (Rumba Cafe)5/3: WCBE 90.5 Presents Ruby The RabbitFoot (Ace of Cups)5/4: Chris Young (Schottenstein Center)5/4: Steel Panther - Sunset Strip Live (Express Live!)5/5: The Brevet w/ The Halamays (Rumba Cafe)5/6: Naked Giants w/ RADATTACK (Rumba Cafe)5/7: Joan Jett and the Blackhearts (Express Live!)5/7: Justin Timberlake (Nationwide Arena)

Longread I remember the first time I ever heard a Prince song. I was laying in my childhood bedroom under a wall of posters ranging from Spice Girls to Elton John when "Kiss" came on the radio. It was the 90s, so naturally, I scrambled to find any cassette I could, threw it into the boombox and hit record. From the first few seconds, I knew I was listening to something that was completely unique. Prince is the kind of artist that inspires listeners, even 10-year-olds. Fans have been flocking to his hometown of Minneapolis for years, but in particular since his death. Writer Rebecca Bengal and photographer Alec Soth set off to visit the places Prince had called home throughout the years and to take a look at his lasting impact on fans around the world. Vogue: In the Place Where Prince Lived

Something to say? Hit reply - we read it all.- Chelsea