Monday, April 13 2020

Take These 9 Stereotypical Ohio Spring Break Vacations From Home πŸ–

Easton Restaurants

Sponsored by Easton Town Center: Please help support our 25+ restaurants who are offering meals through carryout, curbside & delivery services, as well as our 3 grocery stores (Costco, Whole Foods and Trader Joes)! Visit Easton Town Center to learn more. ❀️🍽πŸ₯–

Hello, Monday! Chelsea here.

This weekend I caught myself daydreaming. Around this time of year, my husband and I typically plan a small getaway to the nearest and cheapest beach we can find. In my effort to be reminded of how great vacations are, I came across a trend that I had to share with you. Virtual vacations may not have all the excitement of actually getting to visit your destination, but they can be a great way to experience your favorite spots from home. We rounded up the most stereotypical Ohio vacations in one place and found loads of interesting ways to explore them. 

Navigator Feature Story: 

 πŸ‘©β€πŸ’»

Navigator Originals ✏️

 πŸ’Š

A massive new contract for Battelle's mask sanitizing efforts, rest stop food for truck drivers, and the updated numbers all in today's update.

 πŸ“

I'm a big fan of how much positive attention Ohio has been getting in regards to our response to all things coronavirus. I loved the imagery used in this video from the Ohio Department of Health. It's taking off and helping people around the world understand why social distancing is crucial. 

 πŸ“š

The best thing about spending so much time at home is that I've been able to catch up on some much-needed reading. It's my number one favorite hobby and I'm so grateful to live in a city that has incredible local book stores. Although visiting these shops isn't an option right now, you can definitely support them by ordering online. Also, tell me what you're reading so I can add it to my list. 

Talking Points ❀️ 

A Challenging Environment πŸ“°

You'll be hearing a lot about what a tremendously challenging thing all of this is going to be for the news industry (true) but it looks like the Cleveland Plain-Dealer's ownership group is mostly using the circumstances to do some union-busting. The Plain-Dealer is now down to just four union journalists, only one of whom covers the news. The newspaper will now mostly be put together by non-union Cleveland.com reporters following severe cuts and layoffs.

(AP)

Horrifying πŸ’‰

This is a hard read, but it feels important with the amount of backlash I've started seeing online about stay-at-home orders. I understand it - I'm feeling the stress of quarantine myself (and I like being at home!) and I think this weekend was particularly difficult with it being a time when families often gather, but it feels worth it if it means preventing stories like the one below. 

(Cincinnati Enquirer)

The Heart Of Columbus ❀️

I loved, loved, loved this gallery of Ohio State campus-area photos. Wonderfully presented, with great captions. It's definitely worth paging through.

(University District History)

Weather:

61 in the AM, before dropping through the day to 47. Cloudy, with a chance for showers and thunderstorms, especially in the AM, and very windy, with gusts up to 47 MPH

Pollen:

Moderate (Tree)

The Kitchen Meal Kits

Ditch the national brand mailed meal kits and go on a culinary adventure at home with The Kitchen's take-home meal kits. At home participatory dining experiences with options including Taco TuesdayFamily Supper Sunday, and daily meal kits from Wednesday-Sunday that include ingredients from local partners and purveyors. Click here for more info🍽❀️

Today's Photo πŸ€³

Inniswood Metro Gardens tulips

For the day after Easter, this just felt appropriate. These tulips are currently sprouting at Inniswood Metro Gardens. 🌷

πŸ“Έ|

Want to be featured? Use 

 or 

!

Something to say? Hit reply - we love mail. πŸ’ŒπŸ“­

- Chelsea