Friday, December 7, 2018

Columbus Crew Are Getting An Arena District Stadium And Renderings Are Gorgeous βš½πŸ†

Columbus Navigator Logo

It's the freakin' weekend guys, Tracie here.

I've only been to a handful of Crew games over the years. But I'll never forget my first time. Picture this: the year is 1998, the location is Ohio Stadium. Our subject? Me, with a few friends. We watched the Crew play (okay fine, we watched Brian McBride play).  Afterward, there was a free concert in the parking lot. I don't remember the band, and honestly, I bet nobody does, I don't imagine they were a success.

Weird parking lot band performance aside, there was nothing like the energy there. I had never paid much attention to soccer (still don't, sorry) but being there in person made it something more. I think this new stadium will continue to foster that kind of excitement, especially with its central location. Can't wait! 

Navigator full story:

⚽

 Navigator Originals ✏️

πŸ’ƒ

There are a lot of cool things happening this weekend, and not all are related to the holiday season. But, I will say that I'm so excited about The Nutcracker. I'm headed there today with my 1st grader, and it's my first time. Can't. Wait. 

πŸ“―

And the "good cause" mentioned is Columbus Children's Theater. What better combination than live music, children, and booze. Wait. The kids won't actually be there, so I think we're all good. 

🐷

My biggest takeaway from this article is that there is, in fact, a meat sciences department at Ohio State. That's...oddly specific. But if it means $1 bacon for undergrads who may be subsisting solely on ramen noodles and keg beer, more power to 'em. 

Talking Points ❀️

Breakfast With Nick visited Block's Bagels at their new(ish) location,

Giving potential customers some pointers along the way. As a customer myself, I'll second his recommendation of the Challah French Toast. So. Dreamy.

 πŸž

Weinland Park area community space Zora's House has a lot to offer...

Named for Zora Neale Hurston (shoutout to my college Lit class), the social enterprise allows women to purchase memberships that provide access to the space, private events, discounts and more. Select ambassadors volunteer to maintain the space, as well as host and interact with members on a daily basis.

 πŸ™Œ

The "Tampon Tax" has passed in the Ohio House,

And if passed in the State Senate, Ohio would join 15 other states in exempting feminine products from sales tax. While I understand the loss of tax revenue to the state (estimated to be around $4 million dollars), this will be a welcome change for women in the Buckeye State.

 πŸ™…

Friday Weather 

🌑

Mostly sunny 🌞 today with a high of 32.

 Coming Up πŸ“†

🎭 12/7-30: 

 (Short North Stage)

🎡 12/7: 

 (Southern Theatre)

🎭 12/7-23: 

πŸ’ 12/8: 

🎁 12/8: 

🎭 12/8: 

 (Palace Theatre)

πŸŽ„ 12/8-9: 

🎡 12/8-9: 

 (Lincoln Theatre)

πŸ› 12/9: 

🎡 12/9: 

 (Palace Theatre)​

 Today's Photo πŸ€³

I know this pic is in the article linked ⬆, but this rendering of the new Crew Stadium deserves a second glance! πŸ‘€β€οΈ

Something to say? Hit reply - we love mail. πŸ’ŒπŸ“­

- Tracie